RSS Feed

Facebook Timeline

Facebook announced their latest bombshell yesterday at the f8 conference and with the unveiling of the Timeline put the ball back in their court.  I had a chance to set up my Timeline today and have to say that I liked what I saw on my own page.  There wasn’t much for me to do because the app populates most of the information into it for you, but you can tweak it a little to customize how you want it to appear.

The Timeline is a little bit personal webpage, and a little bit scrapbook. This is ideal for me because I never have time to “scrapbook” and my friends and family are always asking me about what has been going on in my life. Now I can defer them to my new Facebook Timeline and they can scroll through status updates, photos, videos, posts and see what I’ve been up to. But isn’t that what we had before on our profile page? Yes, but now it is much cleaner, each item has their own feature box which calls attention to it, they aren’t just a streaming list of items but rather an aesthetically laid out page that is less blog and more webpage or photo album.

But I think one of my favorite features is the timeline link on the top right of the page that allows you to skip to a specific time period.  Let’s say you were out of the country in July and wanted to catch up with a friend. Click on July and you can see just what happened in that month because it will jump down to that section of the timeline without you having to scroll through dozens of status updates.

Although this is another huge format change for Facebook that might take some getting used to visually, it won’t be too difficult to adapt to using. I give this new feature a thumbs up for Facebook.

 



About Barbara Gobbi

I'm a social media geek and mother of 4. I spend my days helping companies create customized marketing solutions to grow their business and my nights playing with my kids, 2 mutts and brushing up on the latest social media trends.

Leave a Reply

